As of October 9, 2026, Crayo is the cheapest way to turn long sources into a handful of finished clips, Opus Clip and Vizard are the picks if you need a free tier or a scheduler, and Klap is the other tool that prices per clip. We compared ten tools on metering, reframing, moment ranking, editor, caption languages and price per finished clip, with every figure read from the vendor's own page.
How we judged: what you pay for, reframing, moment ranking, editor, caption languages, price per finished clip. Crayo is listed first and publishes this page, so the criteria are stated and you can disagree with the order.
Crayo publishes this page and sells one of the products compared. Every competitor fact links to its source and carries the date we checked it. Spotted an error? Email support@crayo.ai and we correct it within 48 hours.
Text values from each vendor's own pages. No review scores.
| Tool | Entry price | What you pay for | Reframing | Moment ranking | Editor | Caption languages | Price per finished clip |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crayo | Hobby $19/mo or $160/yr (about $13.33/mo) (checked Oct 9, 2026) | 1 credit per finished clip, plus export minutes | Face-aware camera track | Virality ranking in AutoClip and Find Viral Moments | Full timeline editor on every plan | 56 spoken languages | $19 for 250 clips, about $0.08 a clip |
| Opus Clip | Starter $15/mo, monthly only (checked Oct 8, 2026) | 1 credit per source minute uploaded | ReframeAnything object tracking | Virality Score per clip | Paid plans only; Free has no editing | 20+ | Starter $15 for 150 source minutes; per-clip cost depends on how many you keep |
| Vizard | Creator $29/mo or $14.50/mo billed yearly as $174 (checked Oct 9, 2026) | 1 credit per source minute uploaded | Centers key subjects for vertical | Not stated on its pages | Full editor, including on Free | 100+ translation languages | Creator $29 for 600 source minutes; per-clip cost depends on how many you keep |
| Klap | Basic $29/mo or $14/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 9, 2026) | 1 clip per clip generated, plus a videos-per-month cap | AI Reframe 2 | Scores each clip's viral potential | Full editor on every plan, per Klap | 52 | Basic $29 for 100 clips, $0.29 a clip, capped at 10 videos a month |
| Quso.ai | Lite $29/mo or $19/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 8, 2026) | 1 credit per processed minute, rounded up | Auto reframe plus CutMagic scene detection | Virality score per clip | Doc-style editing; advanced editor on Lite and up | 50+ or 100+; the homepage says both | Lite $29 for 100 processed minutes; per-clip cost depends on how many you keep |
| Captions | Max $24.99/mo, listed as an iOS plan, one platform per subscription (checked Oct 8, 2026) | Credits per AI action, charged without export | Face tracking follows the speaker | Per-clip score | Chat-based editor plus a simple editor | 100+ | Max $24.99 for 500 credits; credits per clip not published |
| Submagic (Magic Clips) | Starter $19/mo or $12/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 8, 2026) | 3 credits per video, plus a video count and a per-video minute cap | Not described on Submagic's pages | Claims a virality score; metric not explained | Text-based cut and trim, auto-edit | 123 on the homepage, 100+ on its comparison pages | Starter $19 for 15 uploads of up to 2 minutes; per-clip cost not published |
| Eklipse | Premium $24.99/mo or $14.99/mo billed yearly as $179.99, from the help center; no public pricing page (checked Oct 8, 2026) | Up to 3 streams a day, up to 45 clips per output | AI reframe with manual override | Virality scoring, per its compare table | Eklipse Studio vertical editor | Not stated | Premium $24.99 a month; no per-clip meter |
| Descript | Hobbyist $24/mo or $16/mo billed yearly, per person (checked Oct 8, 2026) | Media hours uploaded plus AI credits | Manual crop; no auto reframe | Underlord picks moments; no ranked list | Text editor plus timeline, on Free too | 61 for captions, 30 for dubbing | Hobbyist $24 for 10 media hours and 400 credits; per-clip cost not published |
| 2short.ai | Lite $9.90/mo, monthly only (checked Oct 8, 2026) | Minutes of video analysed per month | Center stage facial tracking | Not stated on its site | Advanced editing and cropping options, per its site | 26 | Lite $9.90 for 5 hours analysed; per-clip cost not published |
| Spikes Studio | PRO+ $32.99/mo or $14.09/mo billed annually (checked Oct 8, 2026) | Minutes per month | Automatic zooming and resizing; face tracking not mentioned | Not stated on its site | Basic editor; web editor capped at 5-minute videos | 99+ for transcription | PRO+ $32.99 for 300 minutes a month; per-clip cost not published |
Crayo publishes this page and sells one of the products listed. AutoClip takes a YouTube or TikTok link or an upload of up to 3 hours and returns 1 to 20 ranked clips of 15 to 120 seconds, with a face-aware camera and 32 caption styles in 56 spoken languages, per crayo.ai/features/auto-clip. Metering is the reason it leads this list: one workflow credit is one finished clip, so Hobby at $19 a month buys 250 clips however long the sources run, per crayo.ai/pricing. Find Viral Moments lists up to 50 ranked moments before a credit is spent, and the timeline editor and the public API are on every plan. Best for clippers who keep a handful of clips from each podcast, stream VOD or interview. The honest limitation: there is no free tier, no trial and no scheduler, so you download and post yourself, and exports top out at 1080p.
Entry price: Hobby $19/mo or $160/yr (about $13.33/mo) (checked Oct 9, 2026). crayo.ai
Opus Clip is the most searched AI clipper, and its ClipAnything and ReframeAnything tools cover the mainstream podcast and talking-head use case. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, meters 1 credit per uploaded minute: Starter is $15 a month for 150 credits and is monthly only, and Pro is $29 a month or $174 a year for 300 credits with two months of rollover, a scheduler to six connections and an API. The free plan gives 60 credits a month with a watermark, no editing, and clips that stop being exportable after 3 days, per the same page. Best for teams that want a scheduler and seats bundled with clipping. The limitation is the meter: a 60-minute source costs 60 credits whether you keep two clips or twenty, and 4K is Business only.
Entry price: Starter $15/mo, monthly only (checked Oct 8, 2026). www.opus.pro Read Crayo vs Opus Clip
Vizard's pricing page, read in a browser on Oct 9, 2026, lists Creator at $29 a month or $14.50 a month billed yearly as $174 for 600 credits, where 1 credit is 1 minute of uploaded video, with 4K export, uploads up to 600 minutes and a scheduler to six accounts. The free plan gives 60 credits a month at 720p with a watermark, 10-minute exports, 3-day storage and the full editor, per the same page. Vizard also publishes 100+ translation languages and 22 caption templates in Vizard Agent. Best for creators who want 4K and the lowest annual price among the per-minute clippers. The limitation is that its pages show no virality ranking, and per-minute metering means a long source spends credits on every minute you do not keep.
Entry price: Creator $29/mo or $14.50/mo billed yearly as $174 (checked Oct 9, 2026). vizard.ai Read Crayo vs Vizard
Klap meters by output. Its pricing page, read in a browser on Oct 9, 2026, lists Basic at $29 a month or $14 a month billed yearly for 100 clips from 10 videos of up to 45 minutes each, with HD downloads, unlimited social accounts and API access, and Pro at $79 or $39 yearly for 300 clips from 30 videos of up to 2 hours with 4K and AI dubbing in 29 languages. Klap publishes 52 caption languages and says a full editor is on every plan. Best for creators who want per-clip pricing with posting to TikTok, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn built in. The limitation is the second cap: 10 videos a month on Basic, sources over 45 minutes need Pro, and the free plan is 1 video, watermarked per a third-party review.
Entry price: Basic $29/mo or $14/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 9, 2026). klap.app Read Crayo vs Klap
Quso.ai, formerly Vidyo.ai, pairs a clipper with a scheduler. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, meters 1 credit per processed minute rounded up: Lite is $29 a month or $19 a month billed yearly for 100 credits, doubled to 200 a month on annual billing, with 1080p clips and 10 GB storage. Scheduling to 7 platforms and filler and silence removal start at Essential, $39 a month. The free plan gives 75 credits at 720p with a watermark and 7-day retention, per the same page and Quso.ai's own Opus Clip comparison. Best for creators who want clips and posting in one subscription. The limitation: 1080p is the ceiling on every plan, the homepage lists both 50+ and 100+ caption languages, and the FAQ states monthly and annual plans are non-refundable.
Entry price: Lite $29/mo or $19/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 8, 2026). quso.ai Read Crayo vs Quso.ai (formerly Vidyo.ai)
Captions is the mobile-first option on this list, with iOS and Android apps and a Create Clips tool that makes 30+ clips from one upload of up to 3 hours, per captions.ai. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, lists Max at $24.99 a month for 500 credits and Frontier at $69.99 for 1,400, states the prices are iOS plans with one platform per subscription, and publishes no annual figure. Credits are deducted per AI action whether or not you export, per the help docs, which also describe a $9.99 Basic plan with watermarked AI exports. Captions publishes 100+ caption languages and 100+ caption styles. Best for creators who clip and caption on a phone. The limitation: the credit cost of one clip is not published, there is no scheduler, and export resolution is not stated.
Entry price: Max $24.99/mo, listed as an iOS plan, one platform per subscription (checked Oct 8, 2026). www.captions.ai Read Crayo vs Captions
Submagic's Magic Clips makes 20+ clips from one upload, per submagic.co/features/magic-clips, inside a caption tool whose homepage lists 123 languages. The pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, lists Starter at $19 a month or $12 a month billed yearly for 45 credits, counted as 15 videos of up to 2 minutes each at 1080p, and Pro at $39 or $23 for 40 videos of up to 5 minutes. A social media scheduler is included. Best for caption-first creators who occasionally clip a short source. The limitation is the stacked caps: credits, a monthly video count and a per-video minute cap all apply, the 2-minute cap on Starter rules out long sources, and Submagic's own comparison page says it is browser-only with no mobile app. The free account is 3 videos.
Entry price: Starter $19/mo or $12/mo billed yearly (checked Oct 8, 2026). www.submagic.co Read Crayo vs Submagic
Eklipse is built for streamers: it imports Twitch, Kick and YouTube VODs by OAuth, scans up to 3 streams a day and returns up to 45 clips per output, with AI reframe and a Content Publisher to TikTok, Shorts and Reels, per its help center and blog. There is no public pricing page; the help center, updated Apr 12, 2026 and checked Oct 8, 2026, lists Premium at $24.99 a month, $112.99 per 6 months or $179.99 a year, with 1080p60 exports and no watermark. Best for Twitch and Kick streamers who want clips pulled straight from VODs. The limitation: the free tier ended in June 2026 and a free account only previews one recent stream, the refund policy says refunds are generally not provided, and caption languages are not published.
Entry price: Premium $24.99/mo or $14.99/mo billed yearly as $179.99, from the help center; no public pricing page (checked Oct 8, 2026). eklipse.gg Read Crayo vs Eklipse
Descript is a text-based editor for podcasts whose Underlord assistant can Create Clips from a transcript. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, lists Hobbyist at $24 a month or $16 a month billed yearly, per person, for 10 media hours and 400 AI credits with 1080p export, and Creator at $35 or $24 for 30 hours, 800 credits and 4K. The free plan gives 1 media hour a month and 100 one-time credits at 720p with a watermark. Descript publishes 61 caption languages and 30 dubbing languages. Best for podcasters who edit the full episode and want clips from the same project. The limitation is that reframing is a manual crop, Underlord picks moments without a ranked list, and the refund policy allows refunds only within 48 hours of the invoice.
Entry price: Hobbyist $24/mo or $16/mo billed yearly, per person (checked Oct 8, 2026). www.descript.com Read Crayo vs Descript
2short.ai is a YouTube-first clipper with center-stage facial tracking and one-click animated subtitles in 26 caption languages, per its FAQ. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, lists Lite at $9.90 a month for 5 hours of analysing and 60 minutes of fast exports, Pro at $19.90 for 15 hours and Premium at $49.90 for 50 hours, all monthly only with no annual option. The free Starter plan lists 30 minutes of analysing a month in one place on the page and 15 in another. Best for YouTube creators who want the cheapest paid clipper and nothing else. The limitation: the FAQ says it can only process videos that already have captions, there is no scheduler or API, and imports beyond YouTube links need Lite or above.
Entry price: Lite $9.90/mo, monthly only (checked Oct 8, 2026). 2short.ai
Spikes Studio clips long videos and live streams and now leads its homepage with a micro-drama engine. Its pricing page, checked Oct 8, 2026, lists PRO+ at $32.99 a month billed monthly or $14.09 a month billed annually for 300 minutes a month, with no watermark, 1080p export, animated auto-captions, AI B-roll and a social media scheduler. The free Basic plan carries a watermark, exports at 720p and keeps files for 7 days. Transcription is listed in over 99 languages. Best for streamers who want cheap annual minutes and a scheduler. The limitation: the FAQ caps the web editor at videos of up to 5 minutes, the API is by application only, no virality ranking is mentioned, and the pricing page contradicts itself on the Basic plan's price.
Entry price: PRO+ $32.99/mo or $14.09/mo billed annually (checked Oct 8, 2026). spikes.studio
What changed and when.
Crayo vs Opus Clip, with dated prices. Opus Clip charges 1 credit per minute uploaded. Crayo charges 1 credit per finished clip, ranks moments before you cut and puts a timeline editor on every plan.
ComparisonCrayo vs Vizard with dated prices. Vizard meters per uploaded minute and has a free tier. Crayo ranks moments before you cut, charges per finished clip and puts a timeline editor on every plan.
ComparisonCrayo vs Klap with dated prices. Both meter per clip. Klap adds 4K, dubbing and scheduling. Crayo takes 3-hour sources on the entry plan, ranks moments to approve first and puts a timeline editor on every plan.
ComparisonCrayo vs CapCut, with dated prices. CapCut has no pricing page; Pro is about $19.99/mo per third-party guides. Crayo publishes every plan and ranks clips.
ComparisonCrayo vs Submagic, with dated prices. Submagic caps credits, video count and minutes per video. Crayo charges 1 credit per finished clip, no per-video cap.
ComparisonCrayo vs Captions with dated prices. Captions burns credits without an export and sells one plan per platform. Crayo is one browser plan, 1 credit per finished clip.